Goodbye, Russia, I’ll be back in 2 weeks

In less than 24 hours I will be home, in Poland. Sounds quite abstract after over two months in Russia. I decided to bring all winter-ish clothes back home and was quite worried that all the warm, thick jumpers, coats and boots won’t fit into my suitcase and/or will exceed the weight limit. To my surprise, my suitcase is half empty and there’s really nothing more I could pack. I just smile to myself thinking about the time when I first left home and moved to Cracow with four suitcases. Next year, I took ‚only’ two suitcases to London, though when I was moving out after three years, I had a few more boxes to send back home. Going to Italy, I packed one full suitcase. To Russia, in the middle of the winter, I took one suitcase of less than 15 kg. I think that I’d be able to pack into a 40-50 litres backpack for a round-the-world trip now. Quite an improvement :)

Looking at my suitcase now, I’m also thinking about the nomadic lifestyle that I live. And I’m not sure if that’s what I want to do forever. Sometimes it’s just ‚too temporary’.

Anyway, I have a morning kitchen scene to share, more tragic than funny…

As I entered the kitchen in the morning, I bumped into my Chinese flatmate, W. She saw a leaflet which I had left on the kitchen table the day before. There’s a whole separate story about the leaflet, but let’s leave it now.

W: What is this?
E: A leaflet of the Communist Party of Russia.
W: Commu… what?
E: Communist.
W: ?
E: C o m m u n i s t.
W. (checking in the English-Chinese dicitonary): Aaa! Yea, we’ve got that in China. It’s the same in Russia, right?
E: ?! No… it ended ever 20 years ago (I can’t believe I had to say that)
W: What? Really? But my friend told me recently that the system is communism in Russia.
E: Wait, what kind of history do they teach you in China? The Soviet Union collapsed in 1991 and in 1989 the Berlin Wall fell down and since then there’s no communism in Poland, Czech Republic, Hun…
W: What? There’s no communism in Czech Republic?
E: ???
W: I was sure it’s communist, it’s a republic!
E: ???
W: I thought that everything that’s called ‚republic’ is communist, no?

And one last thing – if you scroll down, you’ll find a little movie, some random videos from my mobile put together. Captured end of March/beginning of April. Enjoy :)

***

Za kilkanaście godzin wsiadam do samolotu i lecę do Polski, do Gdańska. Postanowiłam wywieźć wszystkie zimowe ubrania – grube swetry, puchowy płaszcz, kozaki, futrzane onuce o wdzięcznej nazwie ‚Syberia’… Wszystko grube, wielkie, zawłaszczające półki i wieszaki. Zastanawiałam się, jak moja walizka to udźwignie. Jakież było moje zdziwienie, gdy po włożeniu do niej wszystkiego (szafa praktycznie pusta)… mam jeszcze miejsce na drugie tyle. Uśmiecham się pod nosem przypominając sobie moją pierwszą wyprowadzkę z domu, na studia do Krakowa, kiedy wiozłam ze sobą cztery walizy i jeszcze dowoziłam rzeczy… na przykład krzesło. Kto wiezie krzesło z Gdańska do Krakowa?! Potem był Londyn, już tylko dwie walizki, choć po trzech latach, gdy ostatecznie się wyprowadzałam z Wysp, jakoś namnożyło się kartonów do nadania. Do Włoch jechałam z jedną walizką, choć wypchaną po brzegi. Jadąc dwa miesiące temu do Rosji z perspektywą półrocznego pobytu, w środku srogiej zimy, moja walizka ważyła (z absolutnie wszystkim) niecałe 15 kilogramów. A i tak kilku ubrań nigdy nie założyłam. Gdybym miała ruszyć teraz w wielomiesięczną podróż, spokojnie dopięłabym 40-50 litrowy plecak.

Patrząc na walizkę myślę też o tym nomadycznym trybie życia, w który jakoś nie do końca świadomie weszłam. I nie, nie będę pisać, że to wspaniały wybór na całe życie. Ciągłe funkcjonowanie w trybie tymczasowości zaczyna w pewnym momencie uwierać… No nic. Taki lajf.

Na koniec – przedwyjazdowa scenka. Ja mentalnie spadłam z krzesła.

Wchodzę rano do kuchni, wpadam na W. z Chin. W. zobaczyła ulotkę, którą zostawiłam poprzedniego wieczoru na stole (z tą ulotką związana jest osobna historia).

W: What is this?
E: A leaflet of the Communist Party of Russia.
W: Commu… what?
E: Communist.
W: ?
E: C o m m u n i s t.
W. (sprawdza w słowniku angielsko-chińskim): Aaa! Yea, we’ve got that in China. It’s the same in Russia, right?
E: ?! No… it ended ever 20 years ago (czy ja śnię?)
W: What? Really? But my friend told me recently that the system is communism in Russia.
E: Wait, what kind of history do they teach you in China? The Soviet Union collapsed in 1991 and in 1989 the Berlin Wall fell down and since then there’s no communism in Poland, Czech Republic, Hun…
W: What? There’s no communism in Czech Republic?
E: ???
W: I was sure it’s communist, it’s a republic!
E: ???
W: I thought that everything that’s called ‚republic’ is communist, no?

Poniżej sklejka komórczakowa niedawna. A jak uciekam spać, może po raz pierwszy od dawna pojadę na lotnisko przytomna.

3 uwagi do wpisu “Goodbye, Russia, I’ll be back in 2 weeks

Skomentuj

